Skip to main content
Three researcher in a lab)

CSL Florey Medal & Florey Next Generation Award

CSL Florey Medal

Established in 1998 and bearing the likeness of one of Australia's greatest scientists, Nobel Prize-winning Sir Howard Florey who developed penicillin, the Florey Medal is one of Australia's most esteemed awards in the health sciences.

It is awarded biennially to an Australian researcher for significant lifetime achievements in biomedical science and / or human health advancement. In addition to the silver medal, the award currently carries a prize of $50,000.

CSL Florey Next Generation Award

Since 2014, AIPS and CSL have conferred a second category of award, now called the CSL Florey Next Generation Award, which recognises a current PhD candidate who has demonstrated outstanding capability, creativity and potential in the biomedical sciences and/or health and medical research.

This award includes a $20,000 prize, and two runner-up prizes of $2,500 each and has been developed to encourage and support promising health researchers early in their careers, and to complement The Florey Medal in recognising and promoting scientific and intellectual excellence in Australia.

Prior Florey Medal & Florey Next Generation Award Winners