Skip to main content

Kickstarting The Future of Vaccine Innovators

ESWI and CSL Seqirus look to award a third young scientist tackling influenza head on.

Influenza researcher working in a lab.

“It’s easy to find the thought leaders of todaywhat’s harder is finding the thought leaders of tomorrow,” said Dr. Gregg Sylvester, the Chief Health Officer at CSL Seqirus.

To discover them, the leading influenza vaccines provider has partnered with the European Scientific Working group on Influenza (ESWI), a collection of scientists and stakeholder organizations aiming to reduce the burden of influenza, to establish the Young Scientist Vaccine Innovation Award.

For the past two years, the award gave recent Ph.D. graduates in the field of influenza vaccine development, a boost to their career: 10,000 euros, the opportunity to mingle with fellow scientists and present at the ESWI Conference.

To find out more on how to apply for this year’s award, click here. The deadline is February 28, 2023.

Chairman and Executive Committee Member of ESWI, Dr. Ab Osterhaus explained to CSL that the award was designed to recognize them for their work and to inspire the continuation of their scientific achievement in the influenza vaccine field.

Dr. Nicholas Wu, Assistant Professor at the School of Molecular and Cellular Biology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign was last year’s recipient of the award. His research relies on a multidisciplinary approach to influenza vaccine development by integrating molecular biology, biochemistry, virology, immunology, bioinformatics and structural biology.

“I am humbly honored to receive the Young Scientist Innovative Award, which is an important milestone of my career and gives me confidence to continue pursuing my research interests,” he said to the working group.

With this research grant, he explained that it would go toward supporting his students to attend conferences that would help foster their careers, creating the thought leaders of tomorrow.